RAILROAD TRANSPORTATION SAFETY DISTRICT DAWSON COUNTY, NEBRASKA

A regular meeting of the Railroad Transportation Safety District was held on Thursday, September 8, 2011, at 5:00 p.m., in the Lexington City Council Chambers, at 406 E. 7th Street, Lexington, Nebraska. Notice of the meeting was given in advance by publication in the Gothenburg Times. A copy of the Proof of Publication is on file in the office of the County Clerk. Availability of the agenda was communicated in the published notice and in the notice to members of the RTSD Board of this meeting. All proceedings hereafter shown were taken while the convened meeting was open to the public.

Members of the Board of Directors present were Steve Tomasek, John Salem, Linda Miller, Dennis Rickertsen, and Bill Stewart. Everett Hagan was absent. City Officials present were City Manager Joe Pepplitsch and Assistant City Manager Dennis Burnside.

President Tomasek called the meeting to order at 5:00 p.m. and announced that the current open meetings act was posted for the public and the location of the poster.

Motion was made by Salem and seconded by Stewart to approve the minutes of the June 9, 2011, regular meeting. Aye: Miller, Rickertsen, Stewart, Salem, Tomasek. Nay: None. Absent: Hagan. Motion carried.

Motion was made by Miller and seconded by Rickertsen to approve the claims as presented. Aye: Stewart, Salem, Rickertsen, Miller, Tomasek. Nay: None. Absent: Hagan. Motion carried.

Tomasek opened the Public Hearing for the purpose of hearing support, opposition, criticism, or suggestions relating to the proposed 2011-2012 RTSD budget. The proposed 2011-2012 property tax request is \$196,620.00 and the proposed tax rate is 0.010000. Following discussion and hearing no public comment, President Tomasek closed the public hearing.

Motion was made by Stewart and seconded by Miller to approve increasing the base of restricted funds by an additional one-percent (1%). Aye: Rickertsen, Salem, Miller, Stewart, Tomasek. Nay: None. Absent: Hagan. Motion carried.

Motion was made by Stewart and seconded by Rickertsen to approve Resolution #2011-02 - Proposed 2011-2012 Budget. Aye: Miller, Salem, Rickertsen, Stewart, Tomasek. Nay: None. Absent: Hagan. Motion carried.

Motion was made by Rickertsen and seconded by Miller to utilize the budget document as an audit waiver for the State Auditor's requirements. Aye: Salem, Stewart, Miller, Rickertsen, Tomasek. Nay: None. Absent: Hagan. Motion carried.

Pepplitsch presented a financial report and discussed the process of moving the design process for the East Lexington Viaduct Project forward.

No person appeared at the time scheduled for Citizen's comments.

I, Joe Pepplitsch, Director for the Railroad Transportation Safety District, hereby certify that all of the subjects included in the foregoing proceedings were contained in the agenda for the meeting, kept continually current and available for public inspection at the office of the County Clerk during regular business hours prior to said meeting. That the minutes of the RTSD, from which the foregoing proceedings have been extracted were in written form and available for public inspection within ten working days and prior to the next convened meeting of said body; that all media requesting notification concerning the meeting of said body were provided advance notice of the time and place of said meeting and subjects to be discussed at said meeting.

Joe Pepplitsch, Director

Steve Tomasek, President