CITY OF LEXINGTON, NEBRASKA PLANNING COMMISSION January 7, 2015

A Regular Meeting of the Lexington Planning Commission was held Wednesday, January 7, 2015, in the Council Chambers at the Lexington City Hall, 406 East 7th Street, Lexington, Nebraska, at 5:30 p.m. Commissioners present were Seth McFarland, Doug Heineman, Cathy Fagot, Steve Smith, Ellie Quintero, and Curt Bennett. Nancy Evans, Rusty Sutton and Keevin Hardiman were absent. City Officials present were City Manager Joe Pepplitsch, Assistant City Manager Dennis Burnside, Chief Building Inspector Mark Yung, and Secretary Pamela Baruth. The press was represented by KRVN. Also in attendance were Jose Gomez-Aguirre, Maria Vasquez, and Enrique Vasquez.

NOTICE: Notice of the meeting was given in advance, thereof by publication in the Lexington Clipper-Herald, the designated method for giving notice, as shown by the Affidavit of Publication attached to these Minutes. Notice of the meeting was simultaneously given to the Chairman and all Members of the Planning Commission. The proceedings hereafter shown were taken while the convened meeting was open to the attendance of the public. All items presented and discussed on the Agenda were available for public inspection.

CALL TO ORDER: The meeting was called to order by Chair McFarland. McFarland informed the public that the Open Meetings Act is posted in the Meeting Room at the Lexington City Hall, located at 406 East 7th Street, Lexington, Nebraska.

MINUTES–**MEETING 10-1-2014:** Minutes of the Regular Meeting held Wednesday, October 1, 2014, were presented to the Commission for consideration and approval. Moved by Smith, seconded by Bennett, to approve Minutes as presented. Roll call. Voting "aye" were Quintero, Fagot, Heineman, Bennett, Smith, McFarland. Motion carried.

RECOGNIZATION OF REAPPOINTMENTS: The board recognized those members recently reappointed to serve on the Planning Commission for another term. They include Nancy Evans, Curt Bennett, and Rusty Sutton.

ELECTION OF CHAIR: Chairman McFarland opened nominations for the Chairperson for 2015. Moved by McFarland, seconded by Fagot, to nominate and appoint Heineman as Chair of the Lexington Planning Commission for 2015. Nominations were closed. Roll call. Voting "aye" were Bennett, Smith, Quintero, Heineman, Fagot, McFarland. Motion carried.

ELECTION OF VICE-CHAIR: Chairman Heineman opened nominations for Vice-Chairperson for 2015. Moved by Fagot, seconded by Bennett, to nominate and appoint Nancy Evans as Vice-Chairperson. Nominations were closed. Roll call. Voting "aye" were Smith, Quintero, McFarland, Bennett, Fagot, Heineman. Motion carried.

BOARD OF ADJUSTMENT REPESENTATIVE: Chairman Heineman opened nominations for a representative to the Board of Adjustment for 2015. Moved by Bennett, seconded by McFarland, to nominate and appoint Cathy Fagot as the representative to the Board of Adjustment. Nominations were closed. Roll call. Voting "aye" were Quintero, Smith, Fagot, McFarland, Bennett, Heineman. Motion carried.

SECRETARY: Chairman Heineman requested consideration for Secretary for 2015. Moved by Fagot, seconded by McFarland, to nominate and appoint Pamela Baruth as Secretary of the Planning Commission for 2015. Nominations were closed. Roll call. Voting "aye" were Bennett, Quintero, Smith, McFarland, Fagot, Heineman. Motion carried.

PUBLIC HEARING: Chairman Heineman opened a public hearing to consider an application for rezoning submitted by Jose Gomez-Aguirre for property located by 210 West 17th Street from R-1 Single Family Residential to R-2 Two Family Residential. Pepplitsch reviewed Mr. Gomez-Aguirre's concept for renovations to the building to accommodate two apartments. Discussion issues included prior zoning for the property, parking for each apartment, building code requirements, and outside renovations. There being no other discussion, the public hearing was closed. Moved by Fagot, seconded by Smith, to recommend approval of the rezoning application from R-1 to R-2 as presented. Roll call. Voting "aye" were Bennett, Quintero, McFarland, Smith, Fagot, Heineman. Motion carried.

ROUNDTABLE: Pepplitsch reported on upcoming issues for the Planning Commission, including housing projects and subdivision regulations revisions.

ADJOURNMENT: There being no further business to come before the Lexington Planning Commission, Chair Heineman declared the meeting adjourned.

Respectfully submitted, Pamela Baruth Planning Commission Secretary