CITY OF LEXINGTON, NEBRASKA PLANNING COMMISSION February 6, 2008

A Regular Meeting of the Lexington Planning Commission was held Wednesday, February 6, 2008, at the Lexington Municipal Building, 406 E. 7th Street, Lexington, Nebraska, at 5:30 p.m. Commissioners present were Toby Owens, Jim Hain, Curt Bennett, Ellie Vazquez, Cathy Fagot, Dora Vivas and Steve Smith. Rusty Sutton and Mark Yung were absent. City Officials present were Assistant City Manager Dennis Burnside, City Manager Joe Pepplitsch, City Attorney Will Weinhold and Secretary Pamela Berke. Connie and Joe Martin, Jo Swartz, and Jerry Barnes were also in attendance.

NOTICE:

Notice of the meeting was given in advance, thereof by publication in the Lexington Clipper-Herald, the designated method for giving notice, as shown by the Affidavit of Publication attached to these Minutes. Notice of the meeting was simultaneously given to the Chairman and all Members of the Planning Commission. The proceedings hereafter shown were taken while the convened meeting was open to the attendance of the public. All items presented and discussed on the Agenda were available for public inspection.

CALL TO ORDER:

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Toby Owens. The Chairman informed the public that the Open Meetings Act is posted in the Meeting Room at the Lexington Municipal Building, located at 406 East 7th Street, Lexington, Nebraska.

MINUTES – MEETING 11-7-2007

Minutes of the Regular Meeting held Wednesday, November 7, 2007, were presented to the Lexington Planning Commission for consideration and approval. Moved by Smith, seconded by Bennett, to approve Minutes of the Regular meeting on Wednesday, November 7, 2007, as presented. Roll call. Voting "aye" were Vazquez, Hain, Bennett, Smith, Fagot, Vivas, Owens. Motion carried.

RECOGNITION OF NEW MEMBER:

Owens welcomed new member Dora Vivas to the Planning Commission and current members introduced themselves.

ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN:

Chairman Owens opened nominations for the 2008 Chairman of the Lexington Planning Commission. Moved by Smith, seconded by Owens, to nominate Curt Bennett as Chairman of the Lexington Planning Commission for 2008. Roll call. Voting "aye" were Vazquez, Fagot, Hain, Vivas, Bennett, Smith, Owens. Motion carried.

ELECTION OF VICE-CHAIRMAN:

Chairman Bennett opened nominations for the 2008 Vice-Chairman of the Lexington Planning Commission. Moved by Hain, seconded by Vivas, to nominate Cathy Fagot as Vice-Chairman of the Lexington Planning Commission. Roll call. Voting "aye" were Smith, Owens, Vivas, Bennett, Hain, Vazquez, Fagot. Motion carried.

ELECTION OF BOARD OF ADJUSTMENT REPRESENTATIVE:

Chairman Bennett opened nominations for the 2008 Board of Adjustment Representative for the Lexington Planning Commission. Moved by Fagot, seconded by Vazquez, to nominate Steve Smith as the Lexington Planning Commission's Board of Adjustment Representative. Roll call. Voting "aye" were Vazquez, Fagot, Hain, Smith, Vivas, Owens, Bennett. Motion carried.

APPOINTMENT OF SECRETARY:

Chairman Bennett opened nominations for the 2008 Planning Commission Secretary. Moved by Owens, seconded by Hain, to nominate Pamela Berke as Secretary of the Planning Commission. Roll call. Voting "aye" were Vazquez, Fagot, Vivas, Smith, Hain, Owens, Bennett. Motion carried.

PUBLIC HEARING:

Chairman Bennett opened a Public Hearing to consider a rezoning application and a subdivision plat application by Connie Foster-Martin for property located at East Highway 30 and Road 436. Following discussion, the public hearing was closed. Moved by Smith, seconded by Fagot, to recommend approval or the subdivision plat and rezoning of Lot 1 of the subdivision to R-1 based upon the following conditions: the subdivision plat be revised to include the balance of the owner's property as Lot 2; the subdivision plat description of record be revised to include owner's entire property; a ten foot utility easement be included on each side of the common property line of Lot 1 and Lot 2; the subdivision plat dedication includes the accurate name of the owner(s) of the property; and that the property complies with the property maintenance code of the City of Lexington. Roll call. Voting "aye" were Vazquez, Hain, Vivas, Owens, Fagot, Smith, Bennett. Motion carried.

ONE- & SIX- YEAR:

Pepplitsch presented a draft of the One- and Six- Year Street Improvement Program for review. Following discussion, moved by Smith, seconded by Fagot, to acknowledge the updated plan and find that it complies with the comprehensive plan. Roll call. Voting "aye" were Vazquez, Hain, Vivas, Owens, Fagot, Smith, Bennett. Motion carried.

ADJOURNMENT:

There being no further business to come before the Lexington Planning Commission, Chairman Owens declared the meeting adjourned.

Respectfully submitted, Pamela Berke Planning Commission Secretary