PLANNING COMMISSION JANUARY 4, 2006

A Regular Meeting of the Lexington Planning Commission was held Wednesday, January 4, 2006 at the Lexington Municipal Building, 406 E. 7th Street, Lexington, Nebraska, at 7:00 p.m. Commissioners present were Chairman Steve Smith, Cathy Fagot, Jim Hain, Curt Bennett, Jim Macias, Toby Owens, Rusty Sutton, Mark Yung. City Officials present were City Manager Joe Pepplitsch, City Attorney Willard Weinhold, Chief Building Inspector Thomas R. Nelson, and Planning Commission Secretary Shirley Lewis.

NOTICE:

Notice of the meeting was given in advance, thereof by publication in the Lexington Clipper-Herald, the designated method for giving notice, as shown by the Affidavit of Publication attached to these Minutes. Notice of the meeting was simultaneously given to the Chairman and all Members of the Planning Commission. The proceedings hereafter shown were taken while the convened meeting was open to the attendance of the public. All items presented and discussed on the Agenda were available for public inspection.

CALL TO ORDER:

The Meeting was called to order by Chairman Steve Smith.

MINUTES – REGULAR MEETING – 11-2-05:

Minutes of the Regular Meeting held Wednesday,

November 2, 2005 was presented to the Lexington Planning Commission for consideration and approval. Moved by Yung, seconded by Owens, to approve the Minutes of the Regular Meeting held Wednesday, November 2, 2005 as presented. Roll call. Voting "aye" were Fagot, Hain, Bennett, Macias, Sutton, Owens, Yung,

Smith. Motion carried.

APPOINTMENTS:

Chairman Smith acknowledged Rusty Sutton, as the new Planning Commission Member, replacing Charlene West. Mr. Sutton was welcomed to the Lexington Planning Commission.

ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN:

Chairman Smith opened nominations for the 2006 Chairman of the Lexington Planning Commission. Moved by Hain, seconded by Bennett, to nominate Toby Owens as Chairman of the Lexington Planning Commission. Roll call. Voting "aye" were Yung, Sutton, Smith, Macias, Fagot, Bennett, Hain, Owens. Motion carried.

ELECTION OF VICE-CHAIRMAN:

Chairman Owens opened nominations for the 2006 Vice-Chairman of the Lexington Planning Commission. Moved by Fagot, seconded by Hain, to nominate Curt Bennett as Vice-Chairman of the Lexington Planning Commission. Roll call. Voting "aye" were Yung, Sutton, Smith, Macias, Bennett, Hain, Fagot, Owens. Motion carried.

ELECTION OF BOARD OF ADJUSTMENT REPRESENTATIVE:

Chairman Owens opened nominations for the 2006 Board of Adjustment Representative for the Lexington Planning Commission. Moved by Smith, seconded by Fagot, to nominate Mark Yung as the Lexington Planning Commission's Board of Adjustment Representative. Roll call. Voting "aye" were Hain, Bennett, Macias, Sutton, Yung, Fagot, Smith, Owens. Motion carried.

APPOINTMENT OF SECRETARY:

On behalf of the Lexington Planning Commission, Chairman Owens appointed Shirley Lewis as the 2006 Lexington Planning Commission Secretary.

SUBDIVISION REQUEST:

Mr. Willard Weinhold, Attorney representing Mr. Leo Fagot, requested the Lexington Planning Commission's recommendation of a Subdivision Request on Fagot's 2nd Subdivision, located at 75843 Road 434, Lexington, NE. Following discussion, moved by Fagot, seconded by Bennett, to recommend approval of a Subdivision Request by Mr. Leo Fagot, on Fagot's 2nd Subdivision, located at 75843 Road 434, Lexington, NE. Roll call. Voting "aye" were Hain, Macias, Smith, Sutton, Yung, Bennett, Fagot, Owens. Motion carried.

ROUNDTABLE DISCUSSION:

Planning Commission Member Mark Yung stated that there are members on the Lexington Planning Commission that take it upon themselves to educate themselves further in the planning commission activities, attend conferences, workshops, etc., and yet are not given the opportunity to renew their term on the Commission. Mr. Yung stated that the person he is referring to is Charlene West, and that he believes it is sad that she was not allowed her to volunteer and renew her term.

Pepplitsch brought to the Lexington Planning Commission's attention the upcoming 2006 APA/NPZA Conference scheduled for March 29, 30, and 31 in Kearney. All Planning Commission Members are encouraged to attend.

ADJOURNMENT:

There being no further business to come before the Lexington Planning Commission, Chairman Owens declared the meeting adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,

Shirley Lewis Planning Commission Secretary