## PLANNING COMMISSION FEBRUARY 5, 2003

A Regular Meeting of the Lexington Planning Commission was held Wednesday, February 5, 2003 at the Lexington Municipal Building, 406 East 7<sup>th</sup> Street, at 7:00 p.m. Commissioners present were Vice-Chairman Mark Yung, Jim Hain, Kevin Kisker, Jim Macias, Margaret Nielsen, Toby Owens, Steve Smith. Charlene West and Nova Workman were absent. City Officials present were City Manager Joe Pepplitsch, City Attorney Willard Weinhold, Chief Building Inspector Thomas R. Nelson, Secretary Shirley Lewis.

**NOTICE:** 

Notice of the meeting was given in advance, thereof by publication in the Lexington Clipper-Herald, the designated method for giving notice, as shown by the Affidavit of Publication attached to these Minutes. Notice of the meeting was simultaneously given to the Chairman and all Members of the Planning Commission. The proceedings hereafter shown were taken while the convened meeting was open to the attendance of the public. All items presented and discussed on the Agenda were available for public inspection.

CALL TO ORDER:

The meeting was called to order by Vice-Chairman Mark Yung.

MINUTES – REGULAR MEETING – 1-8-03: Minutes of the Regular Meeting held January 8, 2003 was presented to the Lexington Planning Commission for consideration and approval. Moved by Nielsen, seconded by Macias, to approve the Minutes from the Regular Meeting held January 8, 2003 as presented. Roll call. Voting "aye" were Owens, Kisker, Smith, Hain, Macias, Nielsen, Yung, Motion carried.

**APPOINTMENTS:** 

Moved by Yung, seconded by Kisker, to nominate Margaret Nielsen as 2003 Chairman of Lexington Planning Commission. Roll call. Voting "aye" were Macias, Owens, Kisker, Smith, Nielsen, Hain, Yung. Motion carried.

Moved by Nielsen, seconded by Smith, to nominate Toby Owens as 2003 Vice-Chairman of Lexington Planning Commmission. Roll call. Voting "aye" were Hain, Nielsen, Smith, Macias, Owens, Kisker, Yung. Motion carried.

Moved by Nielsen, seconded by Yung, to nominate Shirley Lewis as 2003 Secretary of Lexington Planning Commission. Roll call. Voting "aye" were Kisker, Smith, Macias, Nielsen, Hain, Owens, Yung. Motion carried.

Moved by Yung, seconded by Kisker, to nominate Margaret Nielsen as 2003 Representative to the Lexington Board of Adjustment. Roll call. Voting "aye" were Hain, Macias, Nielsen, Owens, Smith, Kisker, Yung. Motion carried.

## ONE & SIX YEAR STREET

Dana Daniels, representing Miller and Associates, addressed the Lexington Planning Commission, reviewing **IMPROVEMENT PLANS:** the One and Six Year Street Improvement Program for the City of Lexington. Following Mr. Daniels' presentation, and discussion by the Planning Commission, moved by Smith, seconded by Owens, to recommend approval of the One and Six Year Street Improvement Plan. Roll call. Voting "aye" were Kisker, Smith, Macias, Nielsen, Owens, Hain, Yung. Motion carried.

## ROUNDTABLE DISCUSSION:

A question was raised about restrictions on vehicles parking on sidewalks in commercial areas, specifically El Tropico located on 5<sup>th</sup> Street. Administration stated they would take this matter into consideration.

New Commission Member Jim Hain was welcomed to the Lexington Planning Commission. Mr. Hain is replacing Mr. Bill Grant whose term has expired, and requested to not be reappointed. Toby Owens, and Charlene West, were welcomed back to the Planning Commission. accepted to renew their terms.

## **ADJOURNMENT:**

There being no further business to come before the Planning Commission, Chairperson Nielsen adjourned the meeting.

Respectfully submitted,

**Shirley Lewis** Secretary