CITY OF LEXINGTON, NEBRASKA PLANNING COMMISSION January 6, 2016

A Regular Meeting of the Lexington Planning Commission was held Wednesday, January 6, 2016, in the Council Chambers at the Lexington City Hall, 406 East 7th Street, Lexington, Nebraska, at 5:30 p.m. Commissioners present were Doug Heineman, Nancy Evans, Steve Smith, Seth McFarland, Derek Haines, and Curt Bennett. Ellie Quintero and Keevin Hardiman were absent. City Officials present were City Manager Joe Pepplitsch, Assistant City Manager Dennis Burnside, Development Services Director Bill Brecks, City Attorney Brian Copley, and Secretary Pamela Baruth. The press was represented by KRVN.

NOTICE: Notice of the meeting was given in advance, thereof by publication in the Lexington Clipper-Herald, the designated method for giving notice, as shown by the Affidavit of Publication attached to these Minutes. Notice of the meeting was simultaneously given to the Chairman and all Members of the Planning Commission. The proceedings hereafter shown were taken while the convened meeting was open to the attendance of the public. All items presented and discussed on the Agenda were available for public inspection.

CALL TO ORDER: The meeting was called to order by Chair Heineman who informed the public that the Open Meetings Act is posted in the Meeting Room at the Lexington City Hall, located at 406 East 7th Street, Lexington, Nebraska.

MINUTES–MEETING 11-4-15: Minutes of the Regular Meeting held Wednesday, November 4, 2015, were presented to the Commission for consideration and approval. Moved by Smith, seconded by Bennett, to approve Minutes as presented. Roll call. Voting "aye" were Haines, Evans, Smith, Bennett, Heineman. McFarland was absent from the vote. Motion carried.

RECOGNIZATION OF APPOINTMENTS/REAPPOINTMENTS: The board recognized those members recently reappointed to serve on the Planning Commission for another term. They include Curt Bennett and Seth McFarland. The board also welcomed Derek Haines as a new member of the board.

ELECTION OF CHAIR: Chairman Heineman opened nominations for the Chairperson for 2015. Moved by Evans, seconded by McFarland, to retain Heineman as Chair of the Lexington Planning Commission for 2016. Roll call. Voting "aye" were Bennett, Haines, Smith, Evans, McFarland, Heineman. Motion carried.

ELECTION OF VICE-CHAIR: Chairman Heineman opened nominations for Vice-Chairperson for 2016. Moved by Bennett, seconded by Smith, to retain Nancy Evans as Vice-Chairperson. Roll call. Voting "aye" were Haines, McFarland, Evans, Smith, Bennett, Heineman. Motion carried.

BOARD OF ADJUSTMENT REPESENTATIVE: Chairman Heineman opened nominations for a representative to the Board of Adjustment for 2016. Moved by Evans, seconded by Bennett, to nominate and appoint Derek Haines as the representative to the Board of Adjustment. Roll call. Voting "aye" were Haines, Smith, Bennett, Evans, Heineman. Motion carried.

SECRETARY: Chairman Heineman requested consideration for Secretary for 2016. Moved by Evans, seconded by Bennett, to nominate and appoint Pamela Baruth as Secretary of the Planning Commission for 2016. Nominations were closed. Roll call. Voting "aye" were McFarland, Smith, Haines, Bennett, Evans, Heineman. Motion carried.

PUBLIC HEARING: Chairman Heineman opened a public hearing to consider an application for a conditional use permit for property located at 300 West 9th Street. Bill Brecks, Development Services Director, explained the permit would allow for a Commercial Overlay zone in an R-3 zone for a beauty and nail salon to operate. He reviewed the requirements for parking and screening to be completed by the owners. There being no other discussion, the public hearing was closed. Moved by Smith seconded by McFarland, to recommend to the Council approval of the conditional use permit application for a Commercial Overlay zone on property located at 300 West 9th Street. Roll call. Voting "aye" were Bennett, Haines, Evans, McFarland, Smith, Heineman. Motion carried.

ROUNDTABLE: Pepplitsch reported on upcoming issues for the Planning Commission, including housing projects and new subdivisions.

ADJOURNMENT: There being no further business to come before the Lexington Planning Commission, Chair Heineman declared the meeting adjourned.

Respectfully submitted, Pamela Baruth Planning Commission Secretary