## CITY OF LEXINGTON, NEBRASKA PLANNING COMMISSION February 2, 2011

A Regular Meeting of the Lexington Planning Commission was held Wednesday, February 2, 2011, at the Lexington Municipal Building, 406 E. 7th Street, Lexington, Nebraska, at 5:30 p.m. Commissioners present were Cathy Fagot, Ellie Vazquez, Dora Vivas, Seth McFarland, Doug Heineman, Nancy Evans, and Steve Smith. Rusty Sutton and Curt Bennett were absent. City Officials present were City Manager Joe Pepplitsch, Assistant City Manager Dennis Burnside, City Attorney Will Weinhold, Building Inspector Bill Brecks and Secretary Pamela Berke.

**NOTICE:** 

Notice of the meeting was given in advance, thereof by publication in the Lexington Clipper-Herald, the designated method for giving notice, as shown by the Affidavit of Publication attached to these Minutes. Notice of the meeting was simultaneously given to the Chairman and all Members of the Planning Commission. The proceedings hereafter shown were taken while the convened meeting was open to the attendance of the public. All items presented and discussed on the Agenda were available for public inspection.

CALL TO ORDER:

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Cathy Fagot. The Chairman informed the public that the Open Meetings Act is posted in the Meeting Room at the Lexington Municipal Building, located at 406 East 7th Street, Lexington, Nebraska.

MINUTES – MEETING 12-1-10 Minutes of the Regular Meeting held Wednesday, December 1, 2010, were presented to the Lexington Planning Commission for consideration and approval. Moved by Vivas, seconded by Smith, to approve Minutes as presented. Roll call. Voting "aye" were McFarland, Heineman, Smith, Vivas, Fagot. Evans and Vazquez were absent from the vote. Motion carried.

**ELECTION OF CHAIR:** 

Chairman Fagot opened nominations for the Chairperson for 2011. Moved by Heineman, seconded by McFarland, to nominate and appoint Cathy Fagot as Chair of the Lexington Planning Commission for 2011. Nominations were closed. Roll call. Voting "aye" were Vazquez, Vivas, Evans, Smith, McFarland, Heineman, Fagot. Motion carried.

**ELECTION OF** 

Chairman Fagot opened nominations for Vice-Chairperson

#### **VICE-CHAIR:**

for 2011. Moved by Evans, seconded by Smith, to nominate and appoint Doug Heineman as Vice-Chairperson. Nominations were closed. Roll call. Voting "aye" were McFarland, Vivas, Vazquez, Heineman, Smith, Evans, Fagot. Motion carried.

# BD OF ADJUSTMENT REPRESENTATIVE:

Chairman Fagot opened nominations for a representative to the Board of Adjustment. Moved by Evans, seconded by Vivas, to nominate and appoint Curt Bennett as the representative to the Board of Adjustment. Roll call. Voting "aye" were McFarland, Vazquez, Heineman, Smith, Vivas, Evans, Fagot. Motion carried.

#### **SECRETARY:**

Chairman Fagot requested consideration for Secretary for the 2011 Planning Commission. Moved by Smith, seconded by Vivas, to nominate and appoint Pamela Berke as Secretary of the Planning Commission for 2011. Roll call. Voting "aye" were McFarland, Heineman, Vazquez, Evans, Vivas, Smith, Fagot. Motion carried.

#### 1 & 6 YEAR ST IMP:

Commission and Staff reviewed a draft version of the One and Six Year Street Improvement Plan. Following discussion, moved by Smith, seconded by Vivas, to recommend approval of the Plan with noted additions. Roll call. Voting "aye" were McFarland, Evans, Vazquez, Heineman, Vivas, Smith, Fagot. Motion carried.

### **ROUNDTABLE:**

Berke reported that information regarding the Nebraska Planning and Zoning Association annual conference has been received and asked that anyone interested in attending to contact her.

#### **ADJOURNMENT:**

There being no further business to come before the Lexington Planning Commission, Chairman Fagot declared the meeting adjourned.

Respectfully submitted, Pamela Berke Planning Commission Secretary